We All Started Out Small…

My parents are good people, but they were never particularly attuned to remembering details.  I always wanted to know more about my childhood.  I had a million questions, like what was my first word, or what other names did they consider for me?  I have this memory of when my mom told me I could no longer have bottles…ouch.  A lot of tears were shed that night.  I don’t know how old I was, but I was crawling around and lugging my big stuffed rabbit by its ears with my favorite bear bottle in hand.  (That’s bear bottle…not beer bottle.)

I’m always curious to learn about other people.  For anyone who doesn’t mind sharing, I would love to learn more about you.  What was your first word, or favorite food, or favorite toy or story?  What was your first step like?  Did you have any major injuries?  Did your mom describe what it was like to be pregnant or give birth to you?  Do you remember transitioning from a crib to a bed, or going to school for the first time? …etc.

Always greatly appreciated.

12 Comments

Filed under Beautiful People, Fun Stuff

12 responses to “We All Started Out Small…

  1. bluebuilding

    well.. you know that it’s said that your first memory is very important? it’s like the first piece of a puzzle..a main piece! I don’t know though how important are these ‘first memories’ but I would like to share with you my first memory.
    I remember everything like a foggy image. I remember the hall, a green plant, a hallstand, pairs of dark shoes and a shy light coming from the kitchen which was on the right. I can’t remember all the details (and I think that’s normal) but I do remember that light and.. you know.. it’s a great feeling. Sometimes I wonder what happened with that light.. :) which is your FIRST memory?

  2. My very first clear memory — suppose I was 3 or thereabout — was when I fell off the top row of the bleachers at a little league game.

    I don’t remember the fall itself, or even the trip to the hospital. I do remember waking up in my bed at home. I reached up & felt a bandage wrapped around my head. I remember the feeling of wearing that squint-eye quizzed expression which says, without a word:

    What the FUCK??

    Dude.” My step-brother was hovered over me and he said:

    “You cracked your head open!!”

    Welcome to Planet Earth.

  3. Hey bluebuilding, thanks for sharing! It’s interesting how vividly you remember some of the details, but it’s foggy at the same time…a sure sign that your neurons were in a very active period of development! :) I have heard that one’s first memory is important. Do you know how old you were?

    There’s no sequential ordering to a lot of my early memories. The one about graduating out of bottles was an early one. However, I’m pretty sure my first memory was of being spanked while I was laid over my dad’s knee…nothing like a good swat to solidify a memory, eh?

  4. Mike, what a rough introduction to the world as you remember it. It had to be the top row, right?

  5. Brightly beautiful, a sunny morning, I waved as they walked across the proud lawn to the 4 door De Soto. Off to school my two brothers and my sister, and to work, my mean Daddy, all red-faced already.
    Mom called me back and I closed the door before coming, and I distinctly remember looking at the two doorways that opened off the dining room, and I remember wondering which doorway I would go through that night to sleep. One lead to sleep, the other lead to tears. My earliest memory.

  6. Your first memory is tainted with sadness…I’m sorry. Emotion helps cement memories, so there you have it, maybe. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Ah, sweet mystery of life, at last I’ve found you. Being a passionate man has focused or blurred all my experiences in some way. Painful or sad, exuberant and joyous, hilarious or mirthful, I wouldn’t have it otherwise….or couldn’t, or…???

  8. bottlecappie

    I remember my mom lifting up her shirt and putting my hand on her big, pregnant belly, saying: here, feel the baby moving! And I did feel it. I was three, and her belly was right at my eye level. I’m not really a visual person, but I can still see that in my mind’s eye.

    Also, my dad coming home from work and lifting me up to touch the ceiling and knocking down some of the popcorn-texture stuff that was sprayed up there. He called me peanut and he smelled like tobacco and juicy-fruit gum.

  9. Hi bottlecappie, interesting that you remember the smells associated with your memory so clearly. Thanks for sharing. :) What precious early memories to have.

  10. bottlecappie

    Smell is such a fascinating sense. Did you know that the olfactory nerve is connected directly into the amygdala? So smell can bypass cognition and go straight to emotion. Very cool.

    Indeed, the sense of smell is highly underrated. I read about a study that was done with alzhiemer’s patients. They were all people who were young during WWII, so the researchers recreated certain scents from that time (like the smell of a chemical that some of them worked with in factories). When the patients smelled these little vials of scent, they would suddenly be able to recall whole parts of their lives that had been lost to them for years. Amazing.

  11. I actually did know that! I was going to mention the same thing, but sometimes people think I’m strange when I elaborate on how emotional smells are. My parents think I’m crazy for how much I go by my sense of smell. In my kindergarten evaluation, my teacher even noted it. I am always a sucker for a guy who smells good. :)

    Wow. That’s fascinating about Alzheimer’s disease and smell. It’s such a devastating disease. It raises hope that perhaps it will be treatable someday, if the memories are there but just can’t be accessed.

  12. Oh my, how much trouble I’ve gotten into in my life, following my nose toward the good-smellin’ guys.

Leave a Reply

